全球 家机构敦促各国领导人达成一项WTO协议,帮助保护我们的海洋

2021年2月22日更新

2020年,世界各国政府没能在年底前兑现承诺,限制其对支持过度捕捞和危害海洋生态系统健康的公共资金的投入。世界贸易组织(WTO)的有关谈判已经开展了近20年,我们不能再浪费任何一点时间。时间紧迫,来自世界各地的家机构再一次敦促世界各国领导人尽快达成协议,终止当前对渔业和海洋生态系统健康有害的补贴。

尽管世界上三分之一的渔业资源已经被过度开发1,各国政府每年仍提供约220亿美元的有害渔业补贴,导致捕捞能力持续增加。设立这些补贴的初衷可能是帮扶沿海社区,但效果却可能是鼓励在近海和公海进行效益极低且不可持续的捕捞活动,造成这些社区所依赖的渔业资源衰退,危及渔业产业的未来。

2015年,世界各国领导人在通过联合国可持续发展目标(SDGs)时意识到了到有害补贴对鱼类资源和海洋环境所造成的破坏。SDGs是为所有人实现更美好、更可持续未来的蓝图。其中的目标14.6要求,世贸组织各成员国政府达成在2020年前取消有害补贴的协议。然而截止至2021年1月1日,达成该协议的目标仍未兑现。

最终达成的国际协议必须促使最大的渔业补贴国们及时地、大幅度地削减补贴。此外,协议需要建立一个具有约束力的框架,逐步削减助长过剩产能和过度捕捞的所有有害补贴,并要求所有世贸组织成员国政府取消对非法、未报告和无管制的捕捞活动的补贴。处于任何发展阶段的国家都应该做好准备,一旦达成协议,就应该通过渔业补贴政策改革来改善其渔业的健康状况,支持渔民的生计。倘若未竟全功,我们将会错失一个能够重新引导全球渔业实现可持续发展、改善海洋生态系统健康、以及确保海洋继续为当前和未来数以亿计依赖于海洋的人们提供海产的历史性机遇。

我们相信这份协议有可能达成。我们呼吁世界各国领导人迅速找到着力点,以保证尽快成功落实可持续发展目标的要求。这份协议将不仅能够展示世贸组织成员国可以通过合作实现具有全球重要意义的产出,更能够表明可持续发展目标是通向更美好未来的真正途径。

我们已退无可退。

PDF »

签署机构

Organizations AROUND THE GLOBE URGE WORLD LEADERS TO REACH A WTO DEAL TO HELP SAVE OUR OCEAN

Updated February 22, 2021

Governments around the world have failed to fulfil their commitment to curb the public money that supports overfishing and degrades our oceans by 2020. After two decades of negotiations at the World Trade Organization (WTO), there is no more time to waste. organizations from around the world once again urge world leaders to deliver on their mandate to reach a meaningful agreement to stop these harmful subsidies as soon as possible.

Despite the fact that a third of fish stocks are already exploited beyond sustainable levels1, governments continue to provide an estimated US$22billion every year in harmful subsidies that increase fishing capacity.2 While these subsidies may be aimed at helping coastal communities, they can instead encourage fishing beyond profitable and sustainable levels in coastal waters and on the high seas, degrading the very resources on which these communities depend and jeopardising the future of the industry they set out to support.

In 2015, world leaders recognized the damage that harmful subsidies cause to fish stocks and the marine environment when they adopted the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), a blueprint to achieve a better and more sustainable future for all. SDG Target 14.6 tasked governments with reaching a new agreement at the WTO to eliminate harmful subsidies by 2020. As of January 1st, 2021, an agreement is overdue.

The final international agreement must trigger prompt and significant reductions by the largest subsidizers. Moreover, it must establish a binding framework that drives the phase out of all harmful subsidies that contribute to fleet overcapacity and overfishing, and eliminates subsidies to illegal, unreported and unregulated fishing by all WTO members. Countries at all stages of development should be prepared to improve the health of their fisheries and support the livelihoods of their fishers by reforming their fisheries subsidies programs once an agreement is reached. Anything less would miss this generational opportunity to replot the course of global fishing fleets toward sustainability, improve the health of ocean ecosystems, and help ensure that the ocean will continue to provide for the many millions who depend on it, now and into the future.

A deal is possible. We call upon world leaders to work swiftly to find landing zones in order to successfully deliver on the SDG mandate as soon as possible. An agreement would demonstrate not only that WTO members can cooperate to deliver an outcome of global importance, but also that the SDGs represent a real pathway toward a better future.

There is no more time to waste.

PDF »

Get caught up

Be the first to receive social media content and updates on the current fisheries subsidies negotiations

A third of all fish stocks are exploited at unsustainable levels

Signees